Smart service done right?

· evk's blog

#tibber #graphql #electricity #home automation

Due to the current chaos in the energy market we recently ended up with a new electricity provider. Price was more or less the only deciding factor. We didn't really have the time or energy to do any research and we can always change. After subscribing the company sent some information about how cool they are and boasted about their smart service and how you can get the current electricity price in their app. Checking the current price in some crappy phone app didn't seem very exciting to me, but I made a mental note about checking it out and asking them for an API.

For anyone wondering why I don't like their app, I'll freely admit that I haven't tested it. It's the concept I don't like. To make this information useful I want to have the data in my own database so I can analyze it any way I'd like. Even more importantly, the data should be available for automation. Having the information locked up in a phone-app will not make this possible. And for me personally it's not likely that the app will be available for my phone anyway.

Turns out that the situation is much better than i expected. Didn't even have to contact support. Information is easily found on their home page https://developer.tibber.com/ and they use existing technology https://graphql.org/ so there exists plenty of tools and bindings for a decent amount of languages. Whipping up some code to fetch the data and present it was easy. So far I just show the data, probably the same functions that the app have, but the next step will be automation. We have several energy consumers that doesn't have to run at specific times. Considering that daily fluctuations reaches a factor of ten and sometimes much more there are significant money to save.